How to be Warm but also Wonderful!!

Standard

With the winter weather temperatures getting lower, many people’s choices of what to wear seem to get lower and fewer in numbers too. But this doesn’t have to be the case and shouldn’t be the case!

I have one word for you if you seem to find that this is the condition of your closet. Layer.

Layering can stretch your wardrobe like no other, it really is surprising. I would suggest that you invest in some long sleeved t shirts that you can throw under other shirts to add some warmth and cover up those arms that have the goosebumps. Getting long sleeved tees really is an investment to add warmth to your winter wardrobe without breaking the bank. These shirts can be plain cotton or knit, or burnouts. A burnout is the type of shirt that is see through in certain parts, such as the below picture from Anthropologie. But no need to stick to plain colored tees. Adding stripes adds a vibrant twist and makes your outfit more interesting and unique. For example a cream and black striped shirt layered with orange, yellow, red etc would make an adorable outfit! Stripes are huge this year so these kind of shirts can be found at inexpensive stores. Also if you are brave enough you can go for turtlenecks for extra warmth! Below is a turtleneck on clearance from J. Crew for only $15. Or there is always the idea of wearing thermals which are meant to keep you warm. Below is a thermal from J. Crew that also has great style with the awesome orange color and the stripes. This shirt is also on clearance for only $30.

Lacy Longsleeved Tee      Tissue turtleneck tee  Vintage thermal tee in stripe

Layering isn’t just something that can be down with shirts and the top half of your body. Another way to keep warm that is really big this winter is to wear tall knee high boot socks. I got a darling chocolate brown pair from Nordstrom for only $14. I love wearing leggings or skinny jeans and then pulling up my high socks and then wearing boots. It is a look that is all over! Not only is it fashionable but it really does help you keep warm throughout the day! You also can find funky socks that show off your personality and add pops of color! Here are some socks that I am in love with. These socks are great I am sure, they are SmartWool brand so you know that they are made to keep you nice and warm. Also unlike other socks these ones will not make you itch which is a huge plus!

SmartWool Optic Frills Socks - Women'sThis is the dark green pair but they also come in a fun pink, mustard and gray/black.

My friend just got these boots that I love from Sorel that are sure to keep you warm. Below is  the Joan of Artic boot. Having stylish winter boots is another way to keep warm that also serves a purpose. I would totally wear these boots with leggings and a cute sweater, kind of like how they are styled in the picture. They are adorable and so warm! Who knew that snow boots could be so fashionable and desirable?!

Also in winter you get to break out those winter accessories such as gloves, mittens, scarfs and hats! If you are selective you can also get pieces that will transition into the other seasons which is great because it gives you a lot more choices of what to wear and you don’t have to wait a whole year to pull out some fun pieces that you have in your closet. The cream mittens below from Gap may be cable knit but the light color would transition right into spring. Another fun accessory that I am loving this year is infinity scarfs. Below is a cream one also from Gap, that would look amazing with those mittens. Cable knit scarfs keep you very warm but you can also go for lighter weight scarfs such as the one below from Gap. The below scarf is perfect for Winter because of the colors and the material that will actually keep you warm compared to the light weight scarfs that are just for looks. This scarf has weight to it!

        

 

One of my biggest pieces of advice is to invest in winter coats. I have only ever bought coats for fashion such as pea coats but they never keep me warm! This year for Christmas I am getting this black North Face coat that I love! I am going to pair it with leggings and boots and just always throw it on to keep me warm but also stylish! I am also liking this Columbia coat in maroon! There are really a lot of winter coats that can actually keep you warm and layer over your sweaters and then you can take the coat off once indoors if you are melting.

THE NORTH FACE Women's Aconcagua Jacket -  SportsAuthority.com  COLUMBIA Women's Reach the Peak Hybrid Down Jacket -  SportsAuthority.com

I personally don’t love winter but this year I am trying to be positive and make my wardrobe as exciting as ever! I also plan on stay toasty because being cold is something that I don’t handle well. I am a baby and so I am going to be sure to layer, layer, layer this winter!

Leave a comment